Hailed by critics and audiences alike, choreographer Aszure Barton is the artistic director of Aszure Barton & Artists.  She has created works for Mikhail Baryshnikov, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theatre, English National Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, Nederlands Dans Theater, National Ballet of Canada, Martha Graham Dance Company, Bayerisches Staatsballett, Sydney Dance Company, Houston Ballet, and Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, among many others. Her works have been performed on countless international stages including the Palais Garnier (Paris), the Kennedy Center (DC), the Stanislavsky Theater (Russia), Sadler’s Wells (London), and Lincoln Center (NY).

Other choreography credits include the Broadway production of The Threepenny Opera directed by Scott Elliott, translated by Wallace Shawn, and starring Cyndi Lauper, Alan Cumming, Jim Dale, Nellie Mackay, and Ana Gasteyer; film and installation projects, and international outreach activities such as Kenya’s Earth Project: Healing the Rift, at the Laikipia Nature Conservancy.  She has been featured on the cover of Dance Magazine and her choreography has appeared in numerous television projects, including the Sundance Channel’s Iconoclasts series with Alice Waters and Mikhail Baryshnikov.

Aszure has taught and created at many notable institutions including The Juilliard School, New York University, Canada’s National Ballet School, Harvard University, The Laban Institute, The Bolshoi School, among many others.  She was the first Martha Duffy Resident Choreographer at The Baryshnikov Arts Center in 2005. She was a resident creator for Les Ballet Jazz de Montréal (2005-2008) and an artist in residence at The Banff Centre (2007-13). She was proclaimed an official Ambassador of Contemporary Choreography in Canada in 2009 and has received countless honors/accolades including the prestigious Arts & Letters Award, joining the ranks of Oscar Peterson, Eugene Levy, Karen Kain and Christopher Plummer.

Click here to watch Aszure’s work


[photos by Don Lee, Kim Williams, Graeme Mitchell & Mike van Sleen]